The thirty fifth Galway Movie Fleadh ended Sunday night with the Competitors jury handing the pageant’s high prizes of Greatest Irish Movie to Apocalypse Clown, directed by George Kane, and the Technology Jury Award to Scrapper by Charlotte Regan.

Written by Demian Fox, George Kane, Shane O’Brien, and James Walmsley and produced by Morgan Bushe and James Dean, Apocalypse Clown follows a troupe of failed clowns as they embark on a chaotic highway journey of self-discovery after a mysterious photo voltaic occasion plunges the world into anarchy. Scrapper, which stars Harris Dickinson (Triangle of Disappointment), follows Georgie, a dreamy 12-year-old woman who lives fortunately alone in her London flat, filling it with magic. All of a sudden, her estranged father turns up and forces her to confront actuality.

Additionally among the many winners on the evening was Lie of The Land, directed by John Carlin. Written by Tara Hegarty and produced by Chris Patterson and Margaret McGoldrick, the tense drama unfolds on this first characteristic because the Wards put together to desert their lives, escaping a dire monetary scenario when a last-minute change of coronary heart leaves them preventing for survival.

The Graceless Age – The Ballad of John Murry gained the Greatest Irish Documentary award on the evening. Written and directed by Sarah Share and produced by Nuala Cunningham, John Galway, and Aeschylus Poulos, the movie is the story of American singer-songwriter John Murry who was on the cusp of greatness after the discharge of his extremely acclaimed album The Graceless Age (2013) when his world fell aside.

This yr, Galway featured 95 characteristic movies and 102 shorts. The pageant ended with the closing evening pic Let the Canary Sing, which chronicles Cyndi Lauper’s meteoric ascent to stardom and her profound influence that extends throughout her music, and ever-evolving punk type.

The complete record of winners beneath:

Technology Jury Award

SCRAPPER | Director, Charlotte Regan

Producer, Theo Barrowclough

Greatest Worldwide Quick Fiction

LAST CALL | Director, Harry Holland

Greatest Worldwide Quick Animation

GLOBBY THE DRAGON | Administrators, Xin Solar and Yun Li

Greatest Worldwide Quick Documentary

MARUNGKA TJALATJUNU (Dipped In Black) | Administrators, Matthew Thorne and Derik Lynch

Donal Gilligan Award for Greatest Cinematography in a Quick Movie with the Irish Society Cinematographers (ISC) supported by Celtic Grips

TWO FOR THE ROAD | Cinematographer, Eoin McLoughlin

Greatest First Quick Animation Award with Brown Bag Movies


Director/Author/Producer: Jack C.

Greatest Cinematography in an Irish Movie with Train Solais

LIES WE TELL | Cinematographer, Eleanor Bowman

World Cinema Competitors

PAST LIVES | Director, Celine Track

Producers, David Hinojosa, Christine Vachon, Pamela Koffler

Peripheral Visions Award with Galway Cultural Firm

THE LAND WITHIN | Director, Fisnik Maxville

Producers, Thomas Reichlin, Britta Rindelaub and Valon Bajgora

Greatest Worldwide Movie

HERE | Director, Bas Devos

Producer, Marc Goyens

Greatest Worldwide Documentary

ONE BULLET | Director, Carol Dysinger

Producers, Carol Dysinger, Su Kim, Ashim Bhalla and Jesper Jack.

The Pitching Award with Wild Atlantic Photos

The winner is Eimear Morgan together with her undertaking ‘Billy Ruben + The Shunts’

The Galway Movie Honest, in affiliation with Bankside Movies – Greatest Market Venture

BARFLY – Bridge Method Movies, Chris Hees & Dan Thorburn

Greatest Irish Documentary


Producers, Nuala Cunningham, John Galway and Aeschylus Poulous

James Flynn Award for Greatest First Quick Drama

BABY STEPS | Hannah Mamalis – Director

James Horgan Award for Greatest Animation (quick) with Animation Eire

WORRY WORLD | Director: Jessica Patterson

Greatest Quick Documentary with TG4

BEING PUT BACK TOGETHER | David McDonagh – Director

Tiernan McBride Award for Greatest Quick Drama

TWO FOR THE ROAD | Lochlainn McKenna – Director

Greatest Unbiased Movie Award

VERDIGRIS | Director, Patricia Kelly

Producers, Paul Fitzsimons and Patricia Kelly

Bingham Ray New Expertise Award with Magnolia Photos

AGNES O’CASEY | (Lies We Inform/The Miracle Membership)

Greatest Irish First Function with Ingredient Photos

LIE OF THE LAND | Director, John Carlin

Producers, Chris Patterson and Margaret McGoldrick

Greatest Irish Movie with Danu Media

APOCALYPSE CLOWN | Director, George Kane

Producers, Morgan Bushe